THEY’VE played the season out in Lisbon. Angel Di Maria marvellous, Diego Simeone magnificent, Diego Godin’s hairline a thing of minimalist beauty. I can’t stop thinking about Godin. The receding hairline the Spanish equivalent of Derek Mountfield’s moustache. I want him to be my friend.

It means we need something to look forward to. New prospects, new friends, new hairlines. We’re holding out for a hero.

Five O’Clock.

Eight O’Clock.

Eleven O’Clock.

Five O’Clock.

Eight O’Clock.

Eleven O’Clock.

My word. What do you do with the glory of this? The only issue will be the sound quality on the commentary will be far too good. I want it scratchy. I want it to sound like it has come from Jupiter.

We’ve decided to do what we did with Euro 2012 and give people teams. And so we needed thirty two people. Thirty two of them! Some are old friends, some are new friends. All have a side and the specifics are below:

Algeria – Hari Sethi (@hari_sethi)
Argentina – Sian Griffiths (@sianisit)
Australia – Roy Henderson (@royhendo)
Belgium – Daniel Fitzsimmons (@danieljfitz)
Bosnia and Herzegovina – Clare Newstead (@clarenewstead)
Brazil – Dan Hunt (@Daniel_IV_)
Cameroon – Alison McGovern (@alison_mcgovern)
Chile – Neil Atkinson (@knox_harrington)
Colombia – Craig Rimmer (@craig_rimmer)
Costa Rica – John Gibbons (@johngibbonsblog)
Croatia – James Dutton (@jrgdutton)
Ecuador – Neil Scott (@66zimbo)
England – Mike Nevin (@michaeltnevin)
France – Andy Heaton (@andrew_heaton)
Germany – Jim Boardman (@jimboardman)
Ghana – Karl Coppack (@thecenci)
Greece – Phil Blundell (@PhilBlundell)
Honduras – Andi Thomas (@andi_thomas)
Iran – Martin Fitzgerald (@4hundredblows)
Italy – Simon Hughes (@simon_hughes__)
Ivory Coast – Natasha Henry (@natashashenry)
Japan – Ben Johnson (@benjanijohnson)
Mexico – Kristan Heneage (@kheneage)
Netherlands – Dave Downie (@daviddownie17)
Nigeria – Lydia Bleasdale (@parkendlydia)
Portugal – Steve Graves (@steve_graves)
Russia – Samantha Brocklehurst (@larvaemaria)
South Korea – Magic Spongers (@magicspongers)
Spain – Kate Forrester (@kateforrester)
Switzerland – Si Steers (@sisteers)
United States – Ben McCausland (n/a)
Uruguay – Mike Girling (@mikejgirling)

These are your correspondents. I expect you to be lovely to each of them. But how couldn’t you? It’s summer, you look gorgeous, you feel fine and you’ve got some almighty glide in your stride because there’s a World Cup from Brazil on.

They were mostly drawn at random. Mostly (for instance John Gibbons is watching Costa Rica in the flesh. TWICE!). Feel free to contact them.

Along with at least one article – and there are no limits – about practically any aspect of their nation on this site from each (I wouldn’t be expecting a load of football if Euro 2012 is anything to go by), you’ll hear some if not all of these people on upcoming shows; an organizational nightmare but when do we make it easy for ourselves? Some might even report from Brazil. We will also have group overviews from Rob McDonald. Not the Rob McDonald from Magic Spongers. In case he’s suddenly worried.

The Liverpool and domestic talk will continue too and there are some terrific contributions coming up there as well. Gareth Roberts is all over it.

The Anfield Wrap continues apace over the summer. Get yourself a bottle of Algerian wine, have a Bosnian meal dressed in authentic Honduran outfits and sit back and relax.

Anyone know anything about Chile?

Consent management powered by Real Cookie Banner